Snacking On Nostalgia


When I was a child my mother worked as an Extension Technician in our rural community. Extension Technicians provided Services by teaching members of the community how to infuse nutrition into our diets, as well as spearheading outreach to the youth through 4-H. When you are the child of a single working mother you tend to learn things from her career that you may not realize. I would attend 4-H meetings before I was old enough to even attend school. Summers would bring workshops that would teach healthy recipes and arts and crafts.
Lately, my coworker, who loves a bargain and hates waste brought me a jar of peanut butter because he had over-bought for his family. Cool! I though maybe I could use it to make tasty treats that I would not make from my sons peanut butter stash.
In many kitchens, I’m sure peanut butter cookies would be the way to go but after a deluge of them in Elementary School, I haven’t touched one. But there was one treat that I did not get too much of, Honey Milk balls. The original recipe calls for cornflakes as the outside coating but quite, frankly I had to think of another cereal because I had no need for an entire box since no one in our household eats them for breakfast. I used chocolate Rice Chex instead (because I do eat them outside of the recipe.) So I’ve been snacking on childhood nostalgia since. Here‘s the recipe.

Main ingredient: Peanut Butter

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup nonfat dry milk
  • 1/2 cup cereal flakes

Directions

Mix equal amounts of peanut butter and honey. Add the dry milk a little a little at a time. Mix well after each addition.

Form into small balls about 3/4 inch across with your hands. Roll the ball in the crushed cereal flakes. Chill until firm.

Servings :  25 small balls

Description :  Honey Milk Balls can be served with milk or fruit juice for a delicious snack.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sehar A. says:

    thanks for sharing =]
    i made these little peanut butter cookies a few years ago and now make them every few months for my family and friends. though i am allergic to peanuts and peanut butter, i still enjoy making them and this too shall be added to my list of recipes to try out.
    the picture looks great too
    Also, please do check out my food-review blog too with posts which you may find interesting at https://eatandtell1.wordpress.com/ =]
    & follow me on Facebook too https://www.facebook.com/eatandtell001
    Bon Appetit! =]

  2. mbaiken says:

    I stumbled across cinnamon peanut butter a couple of weeks ago and it started my wheels turning about my Honey Milk Ball treats. I purchased the peanut butter and made the recipe but substituted the flake cereal with crushed Cinnamon Toast Crunch. It gave my old stand-by new life.

Leave a Reply

